Villager Aim For Three in Three

Villager FC, after a strong start in this years WP Super League A, have thus far won their first two games and will be aiming to make it three from three against Tygerberg RFC this Saturday at Brookside. Kick Off is at 4pm. 

Although Villager will be confident going into this fixture, Tygerberg, who convincingly beat St Georges in their first round fixture, will surely be looking to make amends after their 66 – 10 loss against UCT in their last fixture two weeks ago.

Villager Head Coach, Gunner Hughes, realises the threat Tygerberg pose. “Tygerberg are always a tough opponent to play against. Although they lost to UCT this year, they have beaten the students in recent years, which tells you straight away that they can beat anyone on their day.” He says.

“We will have to play for the entire 80 minutes tomorrow if we are to have a shot of making it three from three. We played well enough in the last two fixtures, however our lack of concentration at crucial periods have almost cost us dearly against Helderberg and Primrose.” Hughes continued.

Team changes have been kept to a minimum this weekend with only last years WP Disa representative, Adrian Cleophas, making his way into the starting team at loose head prop ahead of Nic Vetsos and David Coombes at scrumhalf in place of Zubayr Abrahams who is unavailable this week.

With the Villager backline claiming most of the glory in the first two games, the platform for another win is expected to lie squarely on the forward pack ‘s shoulders. Having the continuity up front should help the Villager cause however Tygerberg are expected to be the first real forward battle the ‘Brooksider’s‘ will face this year.

It remains to be seen if the continuity of the backline and forwards will stand Villager in good stead on Saturday, however if their moments of brilliance in the first two games are anything to go by this team can continue their winning ways on Saturday.

Villager FC welcomes all supporters from Tygerberg to Brookside on Saturday and encourages everyone to enjoy the festive atmosphere Brookside offers.

Villager FC 1st XV vs Tygerberg RFC 1st XV

1. Adrian Cleophas, 2. Scott Pitcher, 3. Ryan Germishuys, 4. Brent Wienand, 5. Renier Scholtz, 6. Jannie Bester, 7. Devon Fester, 8. Ashley Clarke (CPT), 9. David Coombes, 10. Trent Jenkinson, 11. Brent Sanders, 12. Daniel Clarke, 13. Stuart Pattison, 14. Ryan Massyn, 15. James Allderman

16. Sikho Langa, 17. Brandon Hamman, 18. Simon Greenwood, 19. Kwakhona Ngwanya, 20. Eddie Galpin, 21. Damian Rawstorne, 22. Dean Tattersal

Villager FC 2nd XV vs Tygerberg RFC 2nd XV

1. Nic Vetsos, 2. Daniel Searle, 3. Jarryd Amon, 4. Milf Lindemann 5. Luke Westgarth-Taylor, 6. Payden Viviers 7. Chadwick Peterson 8. Adrian Padua, 9. Zaheer Dramat , 10. Kelvin Dendy-Young 11. Kevin Lock, 12. David Radloff, 13. Taskel Sandows 14. Yaseen Benito, 15. Wayne van Niekerk

16. Ant Moss, 17. Cameron Doyle, 18. Ryan Le Roux, 19. Alli Williams, 20. Kelsey Tait, 21. Yannis Benrabah, 22. Reece Gregg

Villager FC 3rd XV vs Tygerberg RFC 3rd XV

1.Biggie Mtokonya, 2.Yazeed Sadien, 3.Cieran Fitzy, 4. Richard Leatherby 5. Konie Nieuwenhuys, 6. Jamie Marinus, 7. Ross Shackleton, 8. Craig Davies, 9. Abdul Dollie, 10. Andrew Jones-Davies, 11. Gerry Pedersen, 12. Dillon Ranger, 13. Junaide Christians, 14. Ifty Evans, 15. Aya Jolobe

16. Abubakr Pansarey, 17. Alwie/Brandon, 18. Coenraad Myburgh, 19. Jason Botha, 20. Luke Masasire, 21. Ross Norton, 22. Jet Valentine


Villager 1sts vs Tygerberg RFC 16:00 A field
Villager u20 vs Tygerberg RFC 13:30 B field
Villager 2nds vs Tygerberg RFC 14:45 A field
Villager 3rds vs Tygerberg RFC 13:30 A field