Villager Voice 2017 – 035

Dear Villager

The Annual General Meeting of the Villager FC held at Brookside on Wednesday 25 October 2017 heralded in a new era in the rich history of the club.

After 6 years at the helm, Bossie Clarke stepped down as President. As both captain of the 1XV in the early Eighties and as President from  2012 – 2017, Bossie’s no-nonense approach and drive to win were hallmarks of his unselfish service to the Villager FC. He always put Villagers first and had to lead the club through some difficult times, on many occasions with little support. Thank you Bossie for yeoman service to this club. You certainly deserve the break and we look forward to seeing you join Dave Stewart in the “Presidential Suite” on matchdays.

The AGM embraced the changes of the new Villager era as we move back into Super League A in 2018 and excitingly elected Anton Chait as the new and ninth President of the Villager FC. Anton is a true rugby gentleman with an astute knowledge of rugby. He is a Villager man through and through and represented the Villager 1XV from 1987 to 1994 during which time he also represented Western Province. From 1995 to 1997 and from 1999 to 2001 Anton coached the Villager 1XV winning the Grand Challenge in 1997 and 2000. A sincere and warm Villager welcome goes to Anton in his position of President and we look forward to his leadership.

In another change and very much a part of the new was the election of Gerhard Witte as Chairman of the Villager FC. Gerhard joined Villagers in 1982 and has been a member for 32 years. He played for the 1XV from 1986 to 1998 during which time he represented WP B, WP League and WP Sevens. For Gerhard there is only 1 jersey and that is the white jersey of the Villager FC and it is indeed an honour to welcome him as Chairman.

At the AGM Dave Stewart proposed and it was enthusiastically accepted     by all those present, the election of Erik van Vlaanderen as an Honorary Vice President. Erik, as Dave put it in his proposal, was a “silky” 1XV wing from the Seventies who played in that famous Grand Challenge win over the Maties in 1973. Erik has done so much behind the scenes in many areas for the Villager FC and the recognition is richly deserved. Congratulations Erik!

The office bearers elected at the AGM were as follows:

President – Anton Chait.

Chairman – Gerhard Witte.

Deputy Chairman – John Owen-Hughes.

Secretary – Gerard Pedersen.

Chairman of House and Grounds – Dave Edwards.

Treasurer – Kim du Plessis.

Rugby Chairman – Clinton van Rensburg.

Match Secretary – Rameez Ismail.

Additional Members – Peter Smith, Peter Simmons.

The Honorary Life Member of the Villager FC is Dave Stewart and the Honorary Vice Presidents of the Villager FC are Roy Anderson, Tokkie Broughton, Rodney Bryant, Mario Del Fante, Morne du Plessis, Piet Geldenhuys, Roy Hammond, HO de Villiers, Don Lavender, Billy Low, Roy McCallum, Tom Morse, Dennis Nick, Miles O’Brien, Rob Satchel, George Snowball, Terry Steyn, Allan Young, Erik van Vlaanderen.

Kind regards.

VFC Rugby Administration.